A brood comb

….philosophical and other notes….

Help for reading on-line (firefox)

Posted by Tanas Gjorgoski on June 3, 2006

Back when I used Internet Explorer, whenever I was reading some web page, I would triple-click the paragraph that I am reading. The triple-click selects the whole paragraph in IE, making the paragraph stand out from the other text, and who-knows-why I found that helping me in the reading (I guess something to do with easier focusing)…

Now, when I installed Firefox, I found out that it is missing the triple-click feature. Actually it has triple-click but it selects just a line, not the whole paragraph. But of course the beauty of Firefox is in the extensions, so I did a search.

Tripleselect extension adds to Firefox this functionality, so i can now triple-click to select a paragraph.
But, recently I stumbled across Paragrasp extension which seems even better. With this extension, I right click the text in the paragraph, and choose “Paragrasp Here” from the right click menu. The paragraph gets higlighted, but what is very nice is that then I can use ctrl+down-arrow and ctrl+up-arrow to highlight the next or previous paragraph.
For longer texts, I use ctrl+shift+A hotkey and then it works just by pressing the up and down arrow keys.

Let me also remind you that if you have Firefox, you can also annotate the paragraphs using a separate extension, which is neat for analyzing on-line texts. I wrote about that here. (If it is still invitation only, drop a comment, and I will be happy to invite you).

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Help for reading on-line (firefox)”

  1. Joaquin said

    Help me please…
    I just installed Firefox 2.0, and all of a sudden, my username/password isn't being inserted in the signon window (it always was before). I tried the usual suspects–I did not mistakenly tell FF not to remember the password for this site; and I also tried the remember password bookmarklet, but all to no avail–FF will not ask me to remember this password. What do I need to do to get around this?

  2. Joaquin,
    Not sure why you ask this kind of question on philosophy blog, but here are my thoughts…
    Go to Tools menu, then to Options.
    Then go to Security Tab, and choose Show Passwords. Then when the Password dialog pops-up, choose Show Passwords again. Your username/password might be there.

  3. Have used firefox for some years but after a problem with Mcafee I’m no longer able to connect with firefox all I get is REDIRECT LOOP and I have no idea what to do to connect. Have uninstalled and reinstalled Help Please

  4. latest News

    Help for reading on-line (firefox)

Leave a Reply

 
